Mike Reiss, Patriots pool reporter/ESPNBoston.com
Q: Please explain the penalty that was called on No. 94 [Patriots defensive tackle
A: The call was that No. 94 on the defense pushed his teammate into the formation. That is a rule change for 2013 that a teammate cannot push a teammate into the opponents’ formation.
Q: Is it any type of push? Is it a two-handed push?
A: Any push. It could be with the body, not necessarily with the hand, but with the body into his teammate, into the formation. It’s any type of pushing action.
Q: Is there anything else to go over with this penalty?
A: No, the umpire’s flag went up almost instantaneously as he observed the action. We just enforced it as he called it.
Q: And that’s a 15-yard penalty …
A: For unsportsmanlike conduct.