Official website of the New England Patriots

Replay: Patriots Radio Tue Mar 21 - 02:00 PM | Thu Mar 23 - 11:55 AM

Seymour among Hall of Fame Finalists again

DL Richard Seymour is on the threshold of making it to Canton in 2020.


Richard Seymour's pro football journey began right here in Foxborough before taking him to Oakland. Could it conclude in Canton, Ohio?

For the second consecutive year, Seymour's name is among the 15 Modern-Era Player Finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. While the former defensive lineman failed to earn a spot in the 2019 Class (of which former Patriots teammate Ty Law was a member), New England's top pick in the 2001 NFL Draft now has a chance to be enshrined in 2020. Last year, Seymour also fell short to former teammate Rodney Harrison for induction into the Patriots Hall of Fame.

For eight seasons, the South Carolina native who played collegiately for Georgia proved to be an impactful force on New England squads that captured the franchise's first three Super Bowl titles (in his rookie year of 2001, then '03 and '04).

In 2002 and again in '08, Seymour led the Patriots in sacks. For three straight years from 2003-05, he was named a First-Team All-Pro. Among his athletic accomplishments, Seymour earned seven Pro Bowl honors, as well as being named to the NFL's All-Decade Team of the 2000s.

At the conclusion of the 2009 preseason, the Patriots traded Seymour to Oakland, where he finished his NFL career. Seymour retired following the 2012 season.

It's also noteworthy that three other players who are among this year's 15 finalists spent very brief periods with the Patriots: WRs Tory Holt (April-August 2010) and Reggie Wayne (August-September 2015), along with safety John Lynch (August-September 2008).

The night before Super Bowl LIV in Miami next month, the Hall of Fame's Selection Committee with choose and announce five of the 15 modern finalists for induction. They'll be part of a 20-member 2020 Class, joining 10 Seniors (players who last played more than 25 years ago), three Contributors (an individual other than a player or coach), and two Coaches. A special Blue-Ribbon Panel is scheduled to meet early this month to select those 15 other inductees.

Related Content


Latest News

Presented by

Trending Video


In Case You Missed It

Presented by