Skip to main content

HISTORY: 1970-1979

HISTORY: 1970-1979


1970 - 1979

Dec 16, 1979

In a 27-23 victory over the Minnesota Vikings to close out the 1979 regular season, WR's Harold Jackson and Stanley Morgan became the first and second players in Patriots' history to surpass the 1,000-yard receiving single-season mark. Jackson finished the 1979 campaign with 1,013 yards and Morgan totaled 1,002.

Oct 23, 1979

Jeanne Sullivan McKeigue is elected as member of the club's Board of Directors.

Sep 3, 1979

Former Patriots wide receiver Darryl Stingley is named Executive Director of Player Personnel.


Apr 6, 1979

Francis "Bucko" Kilroy's named general manager and former Patriots offensive coordinator Ron Erhardt is named the head coach.


Apr 2, 1979

Patriots announce that head coach and general manager Chuck Fairbanks has been released from his contract to assume duties as head football coach at the University of Colorado.

Dec 31, 1978

Patriots lose 31-14 to Houston in first playoff game ever played in Foxboro.

Dec 10, 1978

Patriots clinch their first outright divisional championship in the club's history with a last minute 26-24 victory over Buffalo at home.

Sep 3, 1978

Mrs. William H. (Mary M.) Sullivan, Jr. elected to the Patriots board of directors.

Aug 20, 1977

Work completed on installation of new surface (Super Turf) in Schaefer Stadium.

Dec 18, 1976

Lost AFC wild card playoff game to the eventual Super Bowl Champion Oakland Raiders, 24-21, in the final 10 seconds of play.

Dec 8, 1976

Non-voting stockholders approve offer of $15 per share made by Billy Sullivan to purchase all non-voting stock.

Dec 5, 1976

Patriots defeat New Orleans 27-6 at Foxboro to qualify for their first NFL playoff appearance and their first playoff appearance since the 1963 AFL Championship game.

Jul 10, 1976

Patriots open their training camp for the first time at Bryant College in Smithfield, R.I. after spending the summers of 1969-75 at UMass/Amherst.

Nov 7, 1975

President William H. Sullivan, Jr. became the first majority owner in club history when he purchased additional voting stock to give him 88 percent of the franchise's voting stock.

Feb 17, 1973

Chuck Fairbanks is named head coach and general manager.

Jan 30, 1973

The Patriots solidify their franchise for years to come when they selected John Hannah (4th overall), RB Sam Cunningham (11th) and WR Darryl Stingley (19th) in the first round of the 1973 draft.

Feb 17, 1972

Made financial history by paying first cash dividend of 15 cents per share.

Aug 15, 1971

The Patriots make their debut at Schaefer Stadium in Foxboro. Gino Cappelletti kicked a 36-yard FG for the first points scored in the stadium as the Patriots topped the N.Y. Giants 20-14 before 60,423 fans.

Mar 22, 1971

The Boston Patriots are renamed the New England Patriots.

Nov 12, 1970

John Mazur replaces Clive Rush as head coach.

Sep 23, 1970

Official ground-breaking ceremonies begin for the construction of the Patriots' new stadium in Foxboro, Mass. The stadium opened nearly one year later.

Apr 4, 1970

Foxboro, Mass. selected as the new playing site for the Patriots.

Feb 1, 1970

The American and National Football League's announced their merger, forming a common league with 26 teams, 13 in the American Football Conference and 13 in the National Football Conference.


Patriots Brand Evolution

See the evolution of the Patriots logo and uniform