Official website of the New England Patriots

replay
Replay: Patriots Unfiltered Tue Sep 28 | 02:00 PM - 11:59 PM

Pool report with referee Jerome Boger

Mike Reiss, Patriots pool reporter/ESPNBoston.comQ: Please explain the penalty that was called on No. 94 [Patriots defensive tackle Chris Jones] on the field goal.

A:The call was that No. 94 on the defense pushed his teammate into the formation. That is a rule change for 2013 that a teammate cannot push a teammate into the opponents' formation.

Q: Is it any type of push? Is it a two-handed push?

A:Any push. It could be with the body, not necessarily with the hand, but with the body into his teammate, into the formation. It's any type of pushing action.

Q: Is there anything else to go over with this penalty?

A:No, the umpire's flag went up almost instantaneously as he observed the action. We just enforced it as he called it.

Q: And that's a 15-yard penalty …

A:For unsportsmanlike conduct.

Mike Reiss
Patriots pool reporter/ESPNBoston.com

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Advertising

Latest News

Presented by
Advertising

Trending Video

Advertising

In Case You Missed It

Presented by
Advertising