Skip to main content

Official website of the New England Patriots

Replay: Best of the Week on Radio Thu Jul 11 - 02:00 PM | Tue Jul 16 - 11:55 AM

Matthew Slater lone Patriot on AP All-Pro team

New England’s special teams captain earns first-time honor.

The Associated Press announced its youthful, revamped All-Pro squad on Friday, with New England special teams captain Matthew Slater the only Patriots player represented on the team.

The AP All-Pro squad is decided by a vote of 50 media members who cover the NFL on a regular basis.

For the first time, voters were asked to select offensive linemen by a specific position, while also voting for a flex player on offense, a fifth defensive back, a punt returner and a special teamer, Slater's role.

This year's All Pro squad includes 17 first-time honorees, like Slater, including trio of rookies led by Cowboys running back Ezekiel Elliott.

The rookie Elliot is one of five Cowboys on the AP squad, one more than the Chiefs for most among all the NFL teams. New England has just one representative on the team despite its league-best 14-2 record this season.

Atlanta's Matt Ryan earned the QB spot on the All-Pro squad, beating out New England's Tom Brady, 29 votes to 15.

Slater earns his first All-Pro honor in the newly-added special teams spot the same year that he was voted to his sixth-straight Pro Bowl.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content


Latest News

Presented by

Trending Video


In Case You Missed It

Presented by