Official website of the New England Patriots

Replay: Patriots Unfiltered Fri Apr 09 - 12:00 AM | Sun Apr 11 - 11:59 PM

Nate Solder receives 2015 Ron Burton Community Service Award

Nate Solder receives 2015 Ron Burton Community Service Award

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. - At Tuesday evening's Patriots Premiere on the field at Gillette Stadium, Patriots tackle Nate Solder became the 13th player to receive the New England Patriots Ron Burton Community Service Award.

Patriots Chairman and CEO Robert Kraft presented Solder with the award, which is named in honor of the late Ron Burton, the first player drafted by the team and a community leader whose widespread charitable work was a model for how a Patriots player can make an impact off the field.

"Nate has been a wonderful person to get to know over the last four seasons," said Kraft. "Time and time again, he has not only proved his diligence on the field, but his work ethic and character has shined brightly off the field as well, as he has been a tireless volunteer in the community. His devotion to helping others and countless hours of volunteerism is remarkable and worthy of this recognition."

Patriots tackle Nate Solder visited the Hockomock YMCA on Tuesday, Oct. 7 and was announced as this year's Legends Ball honoree for his work in the YMCA community.

Solder joined the Patriots as a first round draft pick out of Colorado in 2011 and played in all 16 games with 13 starts as a rookie, with 11 of those starts at right tackle and two as a tackle-eligible tight end. He was moved to left tackle during his second season and has been a starter at that spot over the last three seasons.

He began his college career as a tight end before converting to the offensive line during his sophomore season. His receiving skills were showcased last year during the AFC Championship Game when he recorded his first NFL reception - a 16-yard touchdown pass from QB Tom Brady in the Patriots' 45-7 victory over the Indianapolis Colts.

Solder joins a select group of Patriots players to receive the Ron Burton Award. Past recipients are Devin McCourty (2014), Matthew Slater (2013), Zoltan Mesko (2012), Jerod Mayo (2011), Vince Wilfork (2010), Kevin Faulk (2009), Larry Izzo (2008), Ty Warren (2007), Jarvis Green (2006), Matt Light (2005), Troy Brown (2004) and Joe Andruzzi (2003).

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content