Skip to main content

Official website of the New England Patriots

Replay: Patriots Unfiltered Tue Jun 18 - 11:55 AM | Thu Jun 20 - 09:55 AM

Pool Report with Referee John Parry

Pool reporter Mike Reiss interviews NFL Referee John Parry for an explanation of the ruling on back-to-back timeout calls by the Bills.

Q: I was asked as the pool reporter to ask you a question as it relates to the back-to-back timeout calls by the Bills. What was the ruling on why the Bills weren't penalized for calling their second timeout?

JP: There is no foul for calling a second timeout in the rulebook. We shouldn't have granted it. We shouldn't have shut the play down. But, there is no penalty. There is no 5-yard penalty for what we did. [The procedure is to] get the players reset, the second time out is not allowed, resume play, which is what we did.

Q: I think you answered the question, but just so I'm clear, can you review the procedure as to how it all went down?

JP: It was actually an interesting play when you think of all of the things that led up to it. On third down we had a run play where we ruled a first down, so we have a running clock. Buffalo called their first timeout to stop the clock. Replay now gets involved because they want to review the spot to determine if it is a first down or [is] not a first down. Through replay, we ended up moving the ball back about a half-a-yard, to the 16-and-a-half [yard line], which now makes a fourth down, but because we didn't change it to a stopped-clock scenario, Buffalo is still charged with the timeout that they called. They come up to the line of scrimmage and the play clock is moving down from 25. I don't know exactly where it was, but it was close to zero, probably one, two or three seconds, I suppose. I think a wide receiver turned to the wing official and asked for a timeout, which should not have been granted. What we do mechanically if that does happen, which it obviously did, we bring the players out, we reset play and we go.

Q: Do I have it right that the timeout shouldn't have been granted?

JP: Correct.

Q: So if it had not been granted, the play clock would have just wound down?

JP: He could have potentially taken a delay of game, that's correct. I don't know that he would have taken it, but I think he could.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content


Latest News

Presented by

Trending Video


In Case You Missed It

Presented by