Skip to main content

Official website of the New England Patriots

Replay: Patriots Unfiltered Thu May 16 - 02:00 PM | Tue May 21 - 11:55 AM

Patriots All-Decade teams announced

The Patriots Hall of Fame nomination committee has announced the names of Patriots All-Decade Teams.

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. - Imagine the great multitude of players who have proudly had their numbers sewn on the backs of Patriots jerseys since 1960.

Whether adorned with the "Pat Patriot" logo, or the newer "stylized minuteman" on their helmets, the scores of players who have called New England home are inextricably linked: They are Patriots.

On Monday, members of the Patriots Hall of Fame nomination committee were tasked with the weighty distinction of looking back in time and examining the very best of all who have been Patriots. In addition to their yearly nomination of three players, or coaches to be considered as the next member of the Patriots Hall of Fame, in this the 50th Anniversary of the franchise, the committee also deliberated the formation of four All-Decade Teams and the ultimate — the Patriots 50th Anniversary Team.

Starting with the 50th Anniversary, All-Decade Teams will be compiled in an effort to preserve the accomplishments and achievements of the best Patriots players in their respective eras. The committee first reviewed the Patriots 10th Anniversary Team, which was selected by fan vote in 1971, to create 1960s All-Decade Team before moving onward through the procession of time until they'd created teams for the 1970s, 80s and 90s.

In 2010, the committee will select the All-Decade Team of the 2000s.

The committee, which is comprised of longtime Patriots staffers, members of the media and former Patriots players, embodies a living, breathing history of the team. Nestled around tables in the meeting space inside The Hall at Patriot Place presented by Raytheon, the members voiced their support for various candidates at each position, respective to their contemporaries in their decade. The conversation was always spirited, more often light-hearted as stories from days gone by were exchanged.

Once the All-Decade Teams votes were tabulated, discussion then opened up to the 50th Anniversary Team with current players entering into the argument.

Both the 50th Anniversary Team list and three nominees eligible for induction into the Patriots Hall of Fame will be announced at a later date, so be sure to browse to in the lead up to those announcements.

All-Decade Teams


COACH: Mike Holovak


OT Charlie Long
OT Tom Neville
G Billy Neighbors
G Lennie St. Jean
C Jon Morris
TE Jim Whalen
WR Jim Colclough
WR Art Graham
QB Vito "Babe" Parilli
RB Larry Garron
RB Jim Nance


DE Bob Dee
DE Larry Eisenhauer
DT Houston Antwine
DT Jim Lee Hunt
OLB Tom Addison
OLB Ed Philpott
MLB Nick Buoniconti
CB Chuck Shonta
CB Daryl Johnson
S Don Webb
S Ron Hall


K Gino Cappelletti
P Tom Yewcic
Ret. Larry Garron
SpT Don Webb


COACH: Chuck Fairbanks


OT Leon Gray
OT Tom Neville
G John Hannah
G Sam Adams
C Bill Lenkaitis
TE Russ Francis
WR Stanley Morgan
WR Randy Vataha
QB Steve Grogan
RB Sam Cunningham
RB Andy Johnson


DE Julius Adams
DE Tony McGee
NT Ray Hamilton
OLB Steve Zabel
OLB Steve King
ILB Steve Nelson
ILB Sam Hunt
CB Raymond Clayborn
CB Mike Haynes
S Tim Fox
S Prentice McCray


K John Smith
P Mike Patrick
Ret. Mack Herron
SpT Mosi Tatupu


COACH: Coach Raymond Berry


OT Bruce Armstrong
OT Brian Holloway
G John Hannah
G Ron Wooten
C Pete Brock
TE Lin Dawson
WR Irving Fryar
WR Stanley Morgan
QB Steve Grogan
RB Tony Collins
RB Craig James


DE Julius Adams
DE Garin Veris
NT Richard Bishop
OLB Andre Tippett
OLB Don Blackmon
ILB Steve Nelson
ILB Johnny Rembert
CB Raymond Clayborn
CB Ronnie Lippett
S Roland James
S Fred Marion


K Tony Franklin
P Rich Camarillo
Ret. Irving Fryar
SpT Mosi Tatupu


COACH: Bill Parcells


OT Bruce Armstrong
OT Pat Harlow
G Todd Rucci
G Max Lane
C Dave Wohlabaugh
TE Ben Coates
WR Terry Glenn
WR Shawn Jefferson
QB Drew Bledsoe
RB Curtis Martin
RB Leonard Russell


DE Willie McGinest
DE Brent Williams
NT Tim Goad
OLB Andre Tippett
OLB Chris Slade
ILB Vincent Brown
ILB Ted Johnson
CB Maurice Hurst
CB Ty Law
S Willie Clay
S Lawyer Milloy


K Adam Vinatieri
P Tom Tupa
Ret. Dave Meggett
SpT Larry Whigham

Related Content


Latest News

Presented by

Trending Video


In Case You Missed It

Presented by