Official website of the New England Patriots

Replay: Patriots Unfiltered Mon May 10 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM

Ask PFW correction: Perillo messed up

My apologies to Nathan F. in yesterday's Ask PFW mailbag. As many of you pointed out, with a great deal of class, I might add (except for one know-it-all who called me all kinds of names and suggested I be fired), I was mistaken in my description of the fair catch rule. I misread a rule and thought the ball was live after making contact with the returner making the fair catch. I incorrectly thought the ball was free to be recovered by the punting team after the returner failed to secure it. In fact, Nathan and many of you were right. The ball isn't live until it hits the ground. Thanks to those who took the time to let me know I messed up. Not the first time, certainly won't be the last.

Paul Perillo

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content