Skip to main content

Official website of the New England Patriots

Replay: Best of Radio Thu Apr 11 - 02:00 PM | Tue Apr 16 - 11:55 AM

32 Player Nominees for 2016 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award Announced

Patriots Defensive Back Devin McCourty has been nominated for the third annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award. Winner to be revealed at NFL Honors before Super Bowl LI.

The 32 player nominees for the third annual ART ROONEY SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD have been finalized, the NFL announced today. Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, which recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer ART ROONEY, SR.

The winner of the NFL Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees. The panel is comprised of WARRICK DUNN, CURTIS MARTIN, KARL MECKLENBURG and LEONARD WHEELER.

The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote on Friday, December 16. From the eight finalists, each team's players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

Last year, the players selected CHARLES WOODSON of the Oakland Raiders as the recipient of the 2015 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award. LARRY FITZGERALD of the Arizona Cardinals was the inaugural winner of the award in 2014.

The winner selected by the vote of the players will be announced during the nationally televised NFL Honors show on Saturday, February 4 on FOX, the night before Super Bowl LI. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. He will also receive a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels.


Arizona Cardinals - DT Calais Campbell
Atlanta Falcons - FB Patrick DiMarco
Baltimore Ravens - G Marshal Yanda
Buffalo Bills - DT Kyle Williams
Carolina Panthers - TE Greg Olsen
Chicago Bears - LB Sam Acho
Cincinnati Bengals - WR A.J. Green
Cleveland Browns - T Joe Thomas
Dallas Cowboys - CB Brandon Carr
Denver Broncos - LB DeMarcus Ware
Detroit Lions - S Glover Quin
Green Bay Packers - LB Julius Peppers
Houston Texans - LB Brian Cushing
Indianapolis Colts - RB Frank Gore
Jacksonville Jaguars - LB Paul Posluszny
Kansas City Chiefs - LB Derrick Johnson
Los Angeles Rams - DE Robert Quinn
Miami Dolphins - T Branden Albert
Minnesota Vikings - CB Terence Newman
New England Patriots - S Devin McCourty
New Orleans Saints - T Zach Strief
New York Giants - WR Victor Cruz
New York Jets - WR Brandon Marshall
Oakland Raiders - QB Derek Carr
Philadelphia Eagles - RB Darren Sproles
Pittsburgh Steelers - LB Arthur Moats
San Diego Chargers - QB Philip Rivers
San Francisco 49ers - T Joe Staley
Seattle Seahawks - WR Tyler Lockett
Tampa Bay Buccaneers - DT Gerald McCoy
Tennessee Titans - QB Marcus Mariota
Washington Redskins - QB Kirk Cousins

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content


Latest News

Presented by

Trending Video


In Case You Missed It

Presented by