Official website of the New England Patriots

Replay: Patriots Radio Tue Jun 06 - 04:00 PM | Thu Jun 08 - 11:55 AM

Iowa to honor Tippett

Just months after barely missing out on induction in Canton, 2007 Pro Football Hall of Fame finalist Tippett will be inducted into the National Iowa Varsity Club Athletics Hall of Fame at the University of Iowa on Sept. 8.

IOWA CITY, IA - The National Iowa Varsity Club and the University of Iowa Athletic Department announced the individuals that have been selected as the 2007 Hall of Fame Class. Five former University of Iowa student-athletes will be inducted into the National Iowa Varsity Club Athletics Hall of Fame on September 8, 2007 (Iowa versus Syracuse football game day).

William Buck (Gymnastics 1958-60), Cynthia Haugejorde (Basketball 1977-80), Tim Costo (Baseball 1988-90), Erica Richards (Field Hockey 1986-89), and Andre Tippett (Football 1980-81) represent Iowa's newest class of Hall of Fame inductees.

Andre Tippett (Football) - Andre was named a Consensus First Team All-American his senior season and was a two-time First Team All-Big Ten selection. Andre currently holds the Iowa records for most tackles for loss in a season and career. Andre led the Big Ten in sacks for a loss with 20 for 153 yards as a junior and was a member of Iowa's 1981 Rose Bowl Team as a senior. Tippett was drafted by the New England Patriots in the 2nd round of the 1982 draft. He was named to the Pro-Bowl five consecutive years, and was named the NFL's Defensive Player of the Year in 1985.

The five inductees were selected by a vote of all dues-paying members of the National Iowa Varsity Club. All former Hawkeye athletes who have won at least one major letter are eligible for the Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame. Athletes must have completed their eligibility at least ten years prior to selection.

The Induction banquet/dinner will be held on September 8, 2007 in the Iowa Memorial Union Main Lounge at 12:30 p.m., preceded by a reception at 11:30 a.m. The Induction banquet/dinner is open to the public. Tickets can be purchased for $25 by sending your name and check to Marilyn Broxey, University of Iowa Athletics, 340 CHA, Iowa City, IA, 52242 by Monday August 28th. For more information please call (319) 335-9438.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Latest News

Presented by

Trending Video


In Case You Missed It

Presented by