Official website of the New England Patriots

Replay: Patriots Postgame Show Sun Jan 16 - 01:05 AM | Mon Jan 17 - 08:55 AM

Patriots announce plans for inaugural induction weekend


FOXBOROUGH, Mass. - The New England Patriots today announced plans for the inaugural Induction Weekend at The Hall at Patriot Place presented by Raytheon. A full weekend of activities will kick off Thursday, Sept. 18 and conclude Sunday, Sept. 21. The signature event of the weekend will be a once-in-a-lifetime re-induction of 12 Patriots Hall of Famers in a ceremony that is free and open to the public on Saturday, Sept. 20 at 3:00 p.m. on the plaza outside The Hall. The Sept. 20 ceremony will also feature the induction of the 13th Patriots Hall of Famer, tight end Ben Coates, who was elected by Patriots fans in 2008.

The inaugural Induction Weekend at The Hall at Patriot Place presented by Raytheon will give fans the opportunity to see all of the living Patriots Hall of Famers together at one time in a unique ceremony celebrating the 48-year history of the New England Patriots through its greatest players.

The induction ceremony is just one of several events taking place over the course of the weekend, which also includes a kickoff ceremony on Thursday, Sept. 18 and an enshrinement gala for Patriots Hall of Famers on Friday, Sept. 19.

For the last two years, Patriots fans have had the opportunity to cast a vote for their favorite candidate for the Patriots Hall of Fame. A nomination committee meets each Spring to discuss candidates and to cast their votes for the Patriots players and head coaches they feel are most deserving of New England Patriots' Hall of Fame induction (players must have been out of the league for four years to be eligible). Those votes are tallied and three finalists are selected. Fans are then given the opportunity to vote on to determine the Hall of Fame inductee. In 2007, Patriots fans chose wide receiver Stanley Morgan as the Patriots 12th Hall of Famer.

About the Hall at Patriot Place presented by Raytheon

The Hall at Patriot Place presented by Raytheon is a highly interactive experience showcasing the history of the New England Patriots and providing a permanent home for the franchise's Hall of Fame. With cutting-edge interactive technology throughout, The Hall also explores the history of football in New England and features an integrated math and sciences education program to benefit visiting school groups.

Patriots Hall of Fame:
*(listed alphabetically with year of induction) *

  • Bruce Armstrong (2001)
  • Nick Buoniconti (1992)
  • Gino Cappelletti (1992)
  • Ben Coates (2008)
  • Bob Dee (1993)
  • Steve Grogan (1995)
  • John Hannah (1991)
  • Mike Haynes (1994)
  • Jim Lee Hunt (1993)
  • Stanley Morgan (2007)
  • Steve Nelson (1993)
  • Vito "Babe" Parilli (1993)
  • Andre Tippett (1999).
This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content


Latest News

Presented by

Trending Video


In Case You Missed It

Presented by