Skip to main content

Official website of the New England Patriots

Best of Radio Wed Apr 24 - 04:00 PM | Thu Apr 25 - 07:25 PM

Community MVPs honored

The New England Patriots Charitable Foundation honored more than 20 “Community MVPs” for their commitments to improving their communities through volunteerism on Thursday.


FOXBOROUGH, Mass. - The New England Patriots Charitable Foundation honored more than 20 "Community MVPs" for their commitments to improving their communities through volunteerism on Thursday. At a ceremony in the Fidelity Investments Clubhouse at Gillette Stadium, Patriots Chairman and CEO Robert Kraft made awards totaling $50,000 to benefit the respective charities of this year's honorees.

"This is an opportunity for us to honor those who give of their time and themselves in the spirit of helping others," said Rena Clark, New England Patriots Vice President of Community Affairs and Corporate Philanthropy. "The Patriots are thrilled to honor such a deserving group of recipients this year and to help fund the important work they do with their charitable organizations."

This year's overall winner is Dr. Paul Klainer from Owls Head, Maine. Dr. Klainer is being honored for his dedication and service to the Mid Coast Health Net in Rockland, Maine, which provides health care services to low-income, uninsured residents in the Mid-Coast Maine community. The organization will receive a grant of $10,000 from the Patriots in Klainer's name.

In addition to Klainer, twenty other runners-up and finalists will be honored and presented with grants of either $3,500 or $1,500 for their non-profit organizations. The honorees represent charities in Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire and Vermont.

A complete list of the 2006 Community MVPs follows:

Massachusetts Honorees

Mr. Oswald Mondejar of Brookline, Finalist, Partners for Youth with Disabilities.
Ms. JoAnn Rothschild of Boston, Finalist, Pine Street Inn.
Dr. Alexander Rosin of Brighton, Finalist, The Commonwealth Tenants Association.
Ms. Karin Thibaudeau of Fitchburg, Finalist. ARC Community Services.
Ms. Nelson Arroyo of Jamaica Plain, Finalist, The Hyde Square Task Force.
Mr. Max Harrington of Westford, Finalist, Lowell Transitional Living Center.
Mr. Rene Michaud of Nahant, Finalist, My Brother's Table.
Mr. Donat "Dan" LeBlanc of East Freetown, Finalist, SE Mass. Veterans Housing Program.
Ms. Rowena Fuller of Pittsfield, Finalist, HospiceCare in the Berkshires.
Mr. Richard Fucillo of Winthrop, Finalist, The Viking Pride Foundation.

Rhode Island Honorees
Dr. Jay Schachne of Barrington, R.I., Runner-Up, Katie Brown Educational Program
Ms. Rachel Betesh of Providence, R.I., Runner-Up, AIDS Care Ocean State
Mr. Ernie Marot of Pawtucket, R.I., Finalist, Pawtucket Soup Kitchen
Mr. Simon Martines of Providence, R.I., Finalist, Tides Family Services, Inc.

New Hampshire Honorees
Ms. Amy Nichols of Epsom, N.H., Runner-Up, New Hampshire Association for the Blind
Ms. Kathy Wagner of Londonderry, N.H., Finalist, Londonderry Comforts
Mr. Donald Winn of Nashua, N.H., Finalist, Boys & Girls Club of Greater Nashua

Vermont Honorees
Mr. Ted Beaudoin of Milton, Vt., Runner-Up, Champlain Valley Agency on Aging

Maine HonoreesMs. Faye O'Leary Hafford, of Allagash, Maine, Finalist, Allagash Library

Connecticut HonoreesMs. Jean Smith of Unionville, Conn., Runner-Up, LifeChoice Donor Services, Inc.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content


Latest News

Presented by

Trending Video


In Case You Missed It

Presented by