Skip to main content

Official website of the New England Patriots

Replay: Patriots Unfiltered Thu May 23 - 02:00 PM | Tue May 28 - 11:55 AM

Seymour among Patriots' deactivations

Patriots Pro Bowl defensive end Richard Seymour will not play against the Indianapolis Colts.

Foxborough, Mass. - The Patriots announced that Pro Bowl defensive end Richard Seymour will be inactive for today's AFC Divisional playoff game against the Indianapolis Colts at Gillette Stadium and will not play.

Questions have surrounded Seymour's health and his availability for today's game since he suffered a left knee injury on Dec. 26. He originally suffered the injury during the second quarter against the New York Jets when center Kevin Mawae fell into his left knee while making a block. Seymour was upgraded to questionable on the Patriots injury report this week, even though the team reported he missed parts portions of "team practice" on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.

Seymour, who was voted to third consecutive Pro Bowl this season, had 67 tackles and five sacks in 15 regular season games.

Third-year defensive end Jarvis Green will start in place of Seymour. Green also started the season-finale against San Francisco for the injured Seymour, finishing with eight total tackles in his only start of the season. He had the best game of his career in the 2003 AFC Championship Game against Indianapolis, setting a career-high with 2.5 sacks and recording six tackles.

The Patriots announced that eight players were deactivated from the active roster just over an hour prior to kickoff: Seymour; wide receiver Kevin Kasper; running back Cedric Cobbs, cornerback Earthwind Moreland; defensive back Antwan Harris; tight end Jed Weaver and defensive tackle Ethan Kelley. Jim Miller was designated the third quarterback.

Running back Kevin Faulk, who was questionable on the injury report and has not played in the last two games, is active for today's game. Defensive back Hank Poteat, who signed on Tuesday, is also active.

Indianapolis deactivations included kicker Martin Gramatica, guard Ryan Lilja, wide receivers Brad Pyatt and Aaron Morehead, safety Anthony Floyd, linebacker Kendyll Pope and defensive end Robert Mathis. Travis Brown was designated the Colts' third quarterback.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content


Latest News

Presented by

Trending Video


In Case You Missed It

Presented by