Official website of the New England Patriots

Replay: Best of Patriots Radio Thu Jun 01 - 03:45 PM | Tue Jun 06 - 11:55 AM

Tedy Bruschi elected to College Football Hall of Fame

Former New England Patriots linebacker Tedy Bruschi has been elected to the College Football Hall of Fame.


Tedy Bruschi arrived in New England as a third-round pick in 1996 as the NCAA's all-time sacks leader. Now he's a member of the College Football Hall of Fame.

Bruschi was one of 12 members elected among college football's elite, joining two other former Patriots – former Oklahoma linebacker Rod Shoate and former Miami quarterback and Heisman Trophy winner Vinny Testaverde. The remaining players are NC State tailback Ted Brown, Wisconsin running back Ron Dayne, Nebraska quarterback Tommie Frazier, Texas defensive back Jerry Gray, Eastern Kentucky's Steve Meilinger, Ohio State tackle Orlando Pace, Michigan State linebacker Percy Snow, Baylor quarterback Don Trull and Florida quarterback Danny Wuerffel. Dayne and Wuerffel also were Heisman Trophy recipients.

Bruschi, who is also one of three finalists for induction into the Hall at Patriot Place presented by Raytheon, enjoyed a stellar career at Arizona, where he was a two-time All-American defensive tackle and was the Pac-10's Defensive Player of the Year in 1995. He then went on to a terrific 13-year career as a Patriots linebacker, playing a big part in five Super Bowl trips and three titles.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content


Latest News

Presented by

Trending Video


In Case You Missed It

Presented by