Skip to main content

Official website of the New England Patriots

Replay: Patriots Unfiltered Thu May 16 - 02:00 PM | Tue May 21 - 11:55 AM

Marcus Cannon Named Patriots' 2011 Ed Block Courage Award Winner

Cannon debuts after completing treatments for non-Hodgkins lymphoma and is an immediate contributor on the offensive line


FOXBOROUGH, Mass. - Patriots offensive lineman Marcus Cannon was selected by his teammates as the recipient of the 2011 Ed Block Courage Award. The honor is voted on by teammates and bestowed annually upon the player who best exemplifies the principles of courage and sportsmanship while also serving as a source of inspiration. Cannon and award winners from the 31 other NFL teams will be honored at the 34th Annual Ed Block Courage Awards Banquet in Baltimore on March 13, 2012.

Cannon was diagnosed with non-Hodgkins lymphoma following his senior season at Texas Christian University just prior to the 2011 NFL Draft. He was selected by the Patriots in the fifth round (138th overall). After completing treatments, he began the season on the reserve/non-football injury list before being promoted to the active roster on Nov. 15. Cannon made his NFL debut on Monday Night Football against Kansas City on Nov. 21, playing on the field goal and extra point units before entering the game at right tackle late in the fourth quarter. He played in a reserve role on special teams and at offensive tackle in the Patriots final seven games of the season, seeing significant time at right tackle against Miami on Dec. 24.

Cannon appeared in 49 games at Texas Christian, starting the final 36 contests that he appeared in - 24 at right tackle during his sophomore and junior seasons and 12 at left tackle during his senior season. He did not allow a quarterback sack in 2009 or 2010, receiving First-Team All-Mountain West Conference honors in both years. He was named a Third-Team All-American by the NFL Draft Report and in 2010.

The Ed Block Courage Award is named after Ed Block, a long-time head trainer for the Baltimore Colts and a respected humanitarian dedicated to helping children. Recipients are often players who have overcome devastating injuries or tragedies in their personal lives to return to top-level competition in the NFL.

Officially formulated in 1986, the Ed Block Courage Award Foundation is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization that is sanctioned by the NFL and the Professional Football Athletic Trainers Society (PFATS). The Foundation is committed to heightening awareness of the plight of abused children in cities throughout the league. Proceeds from the annual Courage Awards event benefit the Foundation's Courage House National Support Network For Kids.

Past Patriots Winners:

  • 2011 - Marcus Cannon
  • 2010 - Wes Welker
  • 2009 - Tom Brady
  • 2008 - Sammy Morris
  • 2007 - Steve Neal
  • 2006 - Rodney Harrison
  • 2005 - Tedy Bruschi
  • 2004 - Rosevelt Colvin
  • 2003 - Mike Vrabel
  • 2002 - Joe Andruzzi
  • 2001 - Ted Johnson
  • 2000 - Tedy Bruschi
  • 1999 - Drew Bledsoe
  • 1998 - Troy Brown
  • 1997 - David Meggett
  • 1996 - Sam Gash
  • 1995 - Vincent Brown
  • 1994 - Tim Goad
  • 1993 - Bruce Armstrong
  • 1992 - Irving Fryar
  • 1991 - Fred Marion
  • 1990 - Ronnie Lippett
  • 1989 - Kenneth Sims
  • 1988 - Garin Veris
  • 1987 - Lin Dawson
  • 1986 - Steve Nelson
  • 1985 - Pete Brock
  • 1984 - Steve Grogan
This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content


Latest News

Presented by

Trending Video


In Case You Missed It

Presented by