Skip to main content

Official website of the New England Patriots

Replay: Best of Radio Thu Apr 11 - 02:00 PM | Tue Apr 16 - 11:55 AM

2002 Ed Block Courage Award Recipients from NFL are Announced

Joe Andruzzi will receive an Ed Block Courage Award. Andruzzi is one of the 32 recipients for the award.

BALTIMORE, Md. – The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation today announced the names of the 32 recipients from the National Football League (NFL) who will receive an Ed Block Courage Award on Tuesday, March 25, 2003 at the 25th Anniversary of the Ed Block Courage Awards. The event has been relocated to the Baltimore Convention Center.

The inaugural Ed Block Courage Award was presented in 1978 to Baltimore Colts' defensive end, Joe Ehrmann. Since then, the scope of the Ed Block Courage Award has expanded to include every team in the NFL. Over its twenty–five year existence, the Courage Award has become one of the most esteemed honors bestowed upon a player in the NFL, primarily since the winner is chosen solely by his teammates for his commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. Recipients of this award embody everything that is constructive about professional athletes as they conduct themselves as positive role models within their communities and serve as inspirations to their teammates. They are often players who have overcome devastating injuries or obstacles in their lives to return to the top level of competition that is the NFL.

In addition to honoring the players from the NFL, the 25th Anniversary gala will also feature a special tribute to the courage and character of late Hall of Fame quarterback Johnny Unitas, as well as the Baltimore Colts. The event is also scheduled to honor the Pro Football Weekly Assistant Coach of the Year and the 2002 NFL Athletic Training Staff of the Year from the Dallas Cowboys. Select team personnel and league administrators will also be recognized for their accomplishments and commitments to the Foundation.

The award is named after Ed Block, the former head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts for 23 years. Block was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian whose most passionate cause was helping children of abuse. All proceeds from the event will benefit the Foundation's Courage House National Support Network. Named after the NFL team in a respective NFL city, a Courage House is a facility that provides support and quality care for abused children and their families in that community. Currently, the Courage House National Support Network is comprised of 15 NFL teams, including the Oakland Raiders, Pittsburgh Steelers, Chicago Bears, Detroit Lion, Miami Dolphins, Dallas Cowboys, New York Giants, Baltimore Ravens, Seattle Seahawks, Carolina Panthers, Cleveland Browns, Atlanta Falcons, St. Louis Rams, Indianapolis Colts and Buffalo Bills.

The complete 2002 Class of Ed Block Courage Award recipients is as follows:


Baltimore Ravens – Ethan Brooks, offensive tackle
Buffalo Bills – Tony Driver, safety
Cincinnati Bengals – Richmond Webb, offensive tackle
Cleveland Browns – Mark Campbell, tight end
Denver Broncos – Keith Burns, linebacker
Houston Texans – Jason Bell, cornerback
Indianapolis Colts – Rob Morris, linebacker
Jacksonville Jaguars – Fred Taylor, running back
Kansas City Chiefs – John Browning, defensive tackle
Miami Dolphins – Robert Edwards, running back
New England Patriots – Joe Andruzzi, guard
New York Jets – Vinny Testaverde, quarterback
Oakland Raiders – Jerry Porter, wide receiver
Pittsburgh Steelers – Amos Zereoue, running back
San Diego Chargers – Jamal Williams, defensive tackle
Tennessee Titans – Eddie George, running back


Arizona Cardinals – Kyle Vanden Bosch, defensive end
Atlanta Falcons – Chris Draft, linebacker
Carolina Panthers – Kevin Donnalley, guard
Chicago Bears – Ted Washington, defensive tackle
Dallas Cowboys – Dat Nguyen, linebacker
Detroit Lions – Cory Schlesinger, fullback
Green Bay Packers – Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila, defensive end
Minnesota Vikings – Lewis Kelly, offensive tackle
New Orleans Saints – Fred Thomas, defensive back
New York Giants – Keith Hamilton, defensive tackle
Philadelphia Eagles – Shawn Barber, linebacker
Seattle Seahawks – Floyd Womack, offensive tackle
St. Louis Rams – Andy McCollum, center
San Francisco 49ers – Tony Parrish, safety
T. B. Buccaneers – John Lynch, safety
Washington Redskins – Chris Samuels, offensive tackle

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content


Latest News

Presented by

Trending Video


In Case You Missed It

Presented by