Official website of the New England Patriots

Replay: Patriots Unfiltered Wed Apr 14 | 12:00 AM - 11:55 PM

Kyle Van Noy Receives Patriots 2019 Ron Burton Community Service Award


FOXBOROUGH, Mass. - New England Patriots linebacker Kyle Van Noy was presented the 2019 New England Patriots Ron Burton Community Service Award at the annual Patriots Premiere on the Gillette Stadium field. On Tuesday night, Van Noy was recognized for his outstanding commitment in giving back to the community. Van Noy is the 17th Patriots player to receive the award.

Patriots Chairman and CEO Robert Kraft presented Van Noy the award, which is named in honor of the late Ron Burton, the first player drafted by the team in the inaugural year of 1960 and a community leader whose widespread charitable work was a model for how a Patriots player can make an impact off the field.

"Kyle and his wife, Marissa, started the Van Noy Valor Foundation, a mission that helps initiatives relating to adopted, foster and disadvantaged youth who are in need," said Kraft. "Kyle and Marissa chose a cause that is near and dear to their hearts, as Kyle was adopted as an infant and Marissa's father and younger brother were both adopted. They are both committed to doing anything they can to help make a difference in the lives of children by committing and volunteering to serve and support our community. We are proud of his accomplishments on the field as a New England Patriot, but even more so, proud of his character and his contributions in the community."

Van Noy was acquired by the Patriots in a trade with Detroit in October of 2016 and immediately made an impact on the defense. He has been a part of two Super Bowl championship teams and three straight AFC title teams. He was a part of a defensive effort that helped hold the Rams to just three points in Super Bowl LIII after they entered the game averaging 32.9 points per game. Van Noy originally entered the NFL as a second-round draft pick (40th overall) by the Detroit Lions out of Brigham Young in the 2014 NFL Draft.

Van Noy joins a select group of Patriots players to receive the Ron Burton Award. Past recipients are Joe Cardona (2018), Jordan Richards (2017), Rob Gronkowski (2016), Nate Solder (2015), Devin McCourty (2014), Matthew Slater (2013), Zoltan Mesko (2012), Jerod Mayo (2011), Vince Wilfork (2010), Kevin Faulk (2009), Larry Izzo (2008), Ty Warren (2007), Jarvis Green (2006), Matt Light (2005), Troy Brown (2004) and Joe Andruzzi (2003).

Related Content