Skip to main content

Official website of the New England Patriots

Replay: Patriots Unfiltered Tue Jun 18 - 11:55 AM | Thu Jun 20 - 09:55 AM

Law heads Pats HOF list

The Patriots Hall of Fame committee held its meeting to select its three finalists for this year's class.

The Patriots Hall of the Fame committee met today to discuss nominations for the 2014 class. Although there were 11 individuals nominated – eight players and three coaches – I found this year to be my easiest in terms of selections.

Each year the members of the committee are asked to select their top three among those nominated and the fans are then tasked with picking a winner. To me, this was a slam dunk with Ty Law entering into his first year of eligibility.

Law was a true game-changer in every sense of the word. His ability to shut down half the field with his physical style was an integral part of the Patriots success during the most fruitful period in team history. He was best when it mattered most, whether it was his three-pick performance against Peyton Manning's Colts in 2003 or his pick-six in Super Bowl XXXVI.

Like I said, this one wasn't a hard decision and I suspect the fans will follow suit, which should make for a rather colorful speech next summer from one of the more loquacious personalities the team has enjoyed.

Since we are required to offer three nominees, I also chose Raymond Clayborn and Chuck Fairbanks for my picks. Both hold a lot of sentimental value to me based on my childhood watching some truly talented and underappreciated teams in the mid-1970s.

Fairbanks was the architect of those teams as the coach and general manager from 1973-78. He drafted the likes of John Hannah, Sam Cunningham, Darryl Stingley, Steve Nelson, Russ Francis, Steve Grogan, Mike Haynes, Stanley Morgan and Clayborn among others, taking the 1976 and '78 teams to the playoffs.

Clayborn, a cornerback with the Patriots from 1977-89, is tied with Law for the all-time team lead in interceptions with 36. He was also a prolific kickoff returner and went to three Pro Bowls while anchoring the secondary during the run to Super Bowl XX.

Both are more than worthy of consideration, but to me fall well behind Law. The Patriots media relations department will tabulate the committee's votes and the three finalists will be announced April 15 on and voting will run through May 15.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content


Latest News

Presented by

Trending Video


In Case You Missed It

Presented by