Official website of the New England Patriots

Replay: Patriots Unfiltered Wed Apr 14 | 12:00 AM - 11:55 PM

Light and Welker named to the AFC Pro Bowl squad

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. - Tackle Matt Lightand WR Wes Welker were named to the AFC Pro Bowl squad today. Light and Welker will join teammates QB Tom Brady, G Logan Mankins, LB Jerod Mayo, CB Devin McCourty, S Brandon Meriweather and DL Vince Wilfork as Patriots' representatives for the AFC squad.

It is the third Pro Bowl selection for Light (2006, 2007) and the third consecutive Pro Bowl selection for Welker (2008, 2009).

Light has been part of eight division championships, four conference titles and three Super Bowl crowns since joining the Patriots as a second round draft pick out of Purdue in 2001. He has helped the New England offense finish in the Top 10 on offense six times, including a streak of four straight seasons in the Top 10.

Welker returned from a season-ending knee injury well ahead of schedule and led the Patriots with 86 receptions for 848 yards. The 86 receptions tied for sixth best in the NFL. Welker became the first Patriots player to lead the team in receiving four straight seasons in 2010. Since joining the Patriots in 2007, Welker leads the NFL with 432 receptions.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content