Skip to main content

Official website of the New England Patriots

Replay: Best of Radio Thu Apr 11 - 02:00 PM | Tue Apr 16 - 11:55 AM

Vinatieri to be honored at NFL FEVER/NFL Players Awards Gala

Adam Vinatieri is one of 32 NFL unsung heroes to be honored at the NFL FEVER/NFL Players Awards Gala.

WASHINGTON, D.C., April 3, 2003 - Troy Vincent of the Philadelphia Eagles, recipient of this year's Byron "Whizzer" White Award, will be honored along with 32 current NFL players (see attached list) at the 30th Annual NFL Fever/NFL Players Awards Gala, on Thursday, April 10, 2003 at the Hilton Washington Hotel. A cocktail reception and silent auction begin at 5:30pm, with dinner and awards gala to follow at 6:30pm.

Hosted by the NFL Players Association and PLAYERS INC, the licensing and marketing subsidiary of the NFLPA, the event recognizes and honors one player from each NFL team for his contributions both on the field and in his community. Both NFL players and fans cast ballots for their heroes. The Byron "Whizzer" White Award was named to commemorate the spirit of Hall of Fame inductee Justice Byron "Whizzer" White, a remarkable athlete who exemplified leadership on and off the field through his humanitarian efforts and his public service achievements as a Justice of the United States Supreme Court. All proceeds from the banquet are donated to D.C. Special Olympics.

Troy Vincent's community service activities are numerous, including work with organizations such as the Police Athletic League, Boys & girls Club, Make-A-Wish Foundation and Young Scholars Program. He serves on the board of directors for the Philadelphia Business Leadership Series, the Christian Business Network, and the Professional Business and Financial Network. Vincent's community honors include the Pennsbury Athletic Hall of Fame (2003), Philadelphia Emmy Humanitarian Award (2003), Philadelphia Eagles Hero Award (2002), Philadelphia Man of the Year Award (2001), NFL New Jersey Association's Player of the Year (2001), Sporting News Good Guy Honor Roll (2001), NFL Alumni Man of the Year Award (2000) and the Ed Block Courage Award (1994).

One Unsung Hero will receive the first ever 2002 Kids Choice Award, given to a player for his commitment to youth programs; as selected by the winner of an essay contest held in several middle schools in District of Columbia. The participating students were asked to write about the importance of NFL player involvement in community youth programs. The Kids Choice Award winner will be named at the gala.

As a precursor to the evening activities, several of the NFL players will participate in a basketball game with Special Olympics athletes at Gonzaga High School on Thursday morning from 10:00am until noon.

The event is being filmed for a one-hour television special set to air in early August on FOX Sports Net, and will feature FOX personalities James Brown and Pam Oliver. Bonnie Bernstein of CBS Sports and local sports anchor Rene Knott of WJLA-TV in Washington, will serve as emcees for the awards gala on Thursday night.

Since the Awards Banquet was founded in 1972, the NFL Players Association has donated hundreds of thousands of dollars to several worthy causes. For the eighth consecutive year the banquet will benefit the Washington D.C. Special Olympics. Founded by Eunice Shriver, Special Olympics provides sports training and competition opportunities for people who are mentally challenged.

The organization has established chapters in more than 20,000 communities and 140 countries around the world. For the last several years, the D.C. chapter has lost funding from the City, and the NFLPA and PLAYERS INC have rallied behind them to solicit support from local and international unions and corporations.

NFL Fever, the title sponsor of the gala, is Microsoft Game Studios' exclusive football title for the Xbox video game system. NFL Fever 2004 is due out in stores this summer, just in time for the start of the 2003 season.

2002 Unsung Heroes

Arizona Cardinals
Frank Sanders

Atlanta Falcons
Keith Brooking

Baltimore Ravens
Edgerton Hartwell

Buffalo Bills
Larry Centers

Carolina Panthers
Mike Rucker

Chicago Bears
Olin Kreutz

Cincinnati Bengals
Lorenzo Neal

Cleveland Browns
Brant Boyer

Dallas Cowboys
Dexter Coakley

Denver Broncos
Ed McCaffrey

Detroit Lions
Cory Schlesinger

Green Bay Packers
Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila

Houston Texans
Seth Payne

Indianapolis Colts
Tarik Glenn

Jacksonville Jaguars
Wali Rainer

Kansas City Chiefs
Priest Holmes

Miami Dolphins
Tim Bowens

Minnesota Vikings
Chris Hovan

New England PatriotsAdam Vinatieri

New Orleans Saints
Michael Lewis

New York Giants
Dan Campbell

New York Jets
Kevin Swayne

Oakland Raiders
Roland Williams

Philadelphia Eagles
Brian Mitchell

Pittsburgh Steelers
Lethon Flowers

San Diego Chargers
Donnie Edwards

San Francisco 49ers
Fred Beasley

Seattle Seahawks
Mack Strong

St. Louis Rams
Grant Wistrom

Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Shelton Quarles

Tennessee Titans
Kevin Carter

Washington Redskins
Jon Jansen

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content


Latest News

Presented by

Trending Video


In Case You Missed It

Presented by